Why I Love LeBron James

Before we jump into this I will start by clarifying one thing…the LeBron vs MJ debate is stupid and a waste of time.  You won’t see that nonsense here.

Now, to the 2015 NBA Finals.

Steph Curry and the Warriors.  LeBron James and the Cavaliers.  Tonight!

Well, I guess it’s time to pick a side…right?

As a Kings fan, it’s always time to jump on a bandwagon come playoff time and in recent history my bandwagon has seemed to follow the talents of one man (see what I did there?).

That man is LeBron James.

I bandwagoned the Heat back in the Wade/Shaq years too, but that was far different than the past 4 years.  I had just moved to South Florida, was hanging out with new friends who were Heat fans, so I just joined the party.

The last 4 years in Miami…It was LBJ.

In 2007 I cheered for the Cavaliers…because of LBJ.

So now, the morning of Game 1 of the 2015 NBA Finals, I will hitch my bandwagon allegiance once again to LeBron James and in turn the Cleveland Cavaliers.

I openly admit my man-crush on LeBron James.

The man is a freak of nature and easily the best player of his era (compared to players he played against…not past legends, which again…to me…is stupid).

I doubted him before he showed up in the NBA.  Watching him dunk over 5′ 8″ pimple faced kids in High School didn’t impress me.  The first “King” Nike commercial annoyed the crap out of me…but then he played his first game, against my Kings….and bam.

I was immediately a fan.

He’s got the killer instinct, he shares the ball (even when his supporting cast is horrible…which is annoying, but still selfless), oh yeah and he’s a highlight dunk factory.

Now a decade plus later, I still love the guy.  Yes, I criticized his return to Cleveland…I still think it’s dumb, but it is what it is.  It didn’t make me dislike the guy, his career is just that…his.

In 2015 we watch the 24-hour news cycle hand us headlines of professional and collegiate athletes getting arrested, accused of horrible things, or getting suspended for stupid things on almost a daily basis.

LeBron James is never one of them.

James only gets negative press for things like passing on on missing a final shot, or deciding to take his talents to South Beach because, you know…it was the best job available to him and it won him 2 NBA Championships.

By the way LeBron “haters”…you would have done the same damn thing.

So that’s it for me.  I LOVE the Warriors team this year.  I’m a HUGE fan of Steph Curry, and even his press-conference stealing daughter Riley.

In the end though, my NBA fandom may reside in Sacramento (and now Orlando too), but my full NBA fandom, that belongs to LeBron James and whatever team he ends up on….unless it’s the Lakers. (BLEEP) the Lakers.

NBA Finals Prediction: Cavs in 6. MVP- LeBron “King” James.

-Ditti

Read more: http://www.740thegame.com/onair/open-mike-40566/inside-the-mind-of-ditti-why-13648796/#ixzz3cmpwrT26

Leave a Reply

