My New Home Town

It was the Summer of 2011.

I had just graduated from the University of South Carolina Upstate in May, watched my Bruins hoist the cup in June and traveled the East coast with the Marshall Tucker Band.

The Summer was amazing…but it was time to get back to business.

I moved to Orlando in late July 2011 to be with my fiancee while she finished at UCF and also to further my education in my field by attending the Connecticut School of Broadcasting, which led me to where I am today in my career.

When I got to Orlando, I had no intention of staying for very long.

It was cool to come here. Convenient to be able to go to Disney World, Universal Studios and Sea World whenever I wanted…or could afford to.  It was cool to be in a wild college town in comparison to little old Spartanburg, South Carolina. It wasn’t enough though.  I still saw a future sans Orlando.

That all changed over the last two years.

Since I joined the Open Mike crew in March 2013 I have been embraced by the listeners and the Orlando sports fans to lengths I cannot even describe.  You guys call me on my BS, you support everything I do from this blog to my Bases Loaded show…and beyond that, you have made me fall in love with Orlando.

I can now officially, and proudly, consider myself a converted Orlandoan.

I can count the number of UCF Football games I’ve MISSED over the past two seasons on one hand.  I can say the same about Orlando City this season.  I’ve sat all around the Amway Center for both the Magic and Solar Bears.

I will always remain loyal to my all-time favorite teams, teams I’m sure you already know about and I don’t need to list.  Now, here in Orlando, I have a new list of “B-teams” that I pull for with equal passion and I even have a new A-team in Orlando City…with a tattoo coming soon!

I have become completely enamored with this city, with the people and with the teams.  This young, vibrant city is exactly what I’ve been needing.  I have been reborn in Orlando.

I’m not only a new man because of the weight loss and improving health, but because I finally feel like I’m a part of something. That something is Orlando.

For everything I’ve stated this morning…I thank each and every one of you.  If I can pride myself on anything, it is giving respect where it is due and all of you are owed my respect for all of your support.

Here’s to you Orlando.  My newest home town.

Go City, Go Knights, Go Magic, Go Solar Bears. #TeamOrlando

-Ditti

Any and all feedback welcomed! Get me on Twitter @Ditti33 or via e-mail at ditti@740TheGame.com!

Read more: http://www.740thegame.com/onair/open-mike-40566/inside-the-mind-of-ditti-my-13682612/#ixzz3dEGdSAY2

Leave a Reply

