Mid-Season Prediction Changes- AL East

Before the 2015 MLB season got underway, I gave my division by division breakdown and predictions on my baseball show Bases Loaded (Mondays at 7 pm on 740 The Game).

Those predictions are shot…mostly…so I’m starting over.  We’re basically at the mid-season mark, so for the next handful of days I will go back through the divisions and give you my new mid-season predictions.  We start today right here on the east coast.

AL East:

Don’t look now, but maybe my Red Sox claim isn’t so far fetched.  The Sox have won 6 of 10 and cut a couple games off of their deficit in the division.  Other than the red hot Orioles, the Red Sox are the only club in the division with a winning record over the last 10 games.

Now, I am an admitted Red Sox fan…so I don’t actually expect the Sox to keep this up.  The pitching staff hasn’t changed, they’re just performing slightly above their worth at the moment.

Due to this, I still see the East being a three team race between the Rays, Orioles and Yankees.

Yes, the Blue Jays are right there in it right now.  They are just a game out of first and hold an insane +85 run differential.  I still don’t think they have the staying power.  Their pitching, just like Boston’s, has been over-achieving.  I do love their line-up, but health seems to constantly get in the way.

As far as the three teams I see as being the true contenders, the Rays are my favorite.

Why?  Pitching.

Chris Archer may have had a rough start on Sunday, but for the most part he has been outstanding.  The rest of the rotation has been great as well and that’s without Matt Moore who will return soon.

The one glaring issue with the Rays is offense.  They will HAVE to be buyers come July 31 (Trade deadline) to compete.  There are bats out there for the taking.  I suggest the Rays call their state of Florida brothers about a man named Prado…just my opinion.

The Yankees have the opposite problem from the Rays.  They have a wishy-washy rotation.  Their bullpen has been good, the offense has had down days and great days, but I don’t see it being an issue.  The rotation’s health is the issue and figuring out what’s wrong with CC Sabathia is the biggest issue.

If the Yankees can get CC going and keep the rest of the rotation healthy I think they take this division.  I just don’t know if that’s possible.

The Orioles are the Orioles.  I counted them out after losing Nelson Cruz, I shouldn’t have.  I think they stay in the mix with their great pitching throughout the year but are bit by their affinity for 1-run ballgames late.

Mid-Season Final Standings Prediction

  1. Tampa Bay Rays
  2. New York Yankees (Wild Card)
  3. Baltimore Orioles
  4. Toronto Blue Jays
  5. Boston Red Sox

There you have it.  I am not putting the Sox in last place for “reverse jinx” reasons…I promise.  This is my honest baseball analysis.  The Sox have a lot of work to do.

Also, the “horrible division” that the East has been dubbed has all but one team atop the Wild Card standings at the 79 game mark…so yeah…not such a bad division after all.

Coming up tomorrow: AL Central!

-Ditti

Any and all feedback welcomed! Get me on Twitter (@Ditti33) or via e-mail at ditti@740TheGame.com.  

Read more: http://www.740thegame.com/onair/open-mike-40566/inside-the-mind-of-ditti-midseason-13726561/#ixzz3eegg4tWs

Leave a Reply

