Bases Loaded Update

The Blue Jays are coming! The Blue Jays are coming!

Yes, it’s time to party like its 1993 in the Great White North.  The Blue Jays not only won the MLB Trade Deadline, but they are knocking on the Yankees’ door in the America League East AND Toronto has already taken over the the American League Wild Card holding a one game lead over the Los Angeles Angels.

The Blue Jays additions of Troy Tulowitzki and David Price have made an unbelievable difference.  The team wasn’t bad without them…but they definitely needed a push as they sat in 4th place in the AL East for much of the season.  Now they have won 11 of 12 and eight in a row.

I am calling it now.  The Blue Jays will be your 2015 AL East Champions when it’s all said and done.  Write it down in your book of promise.

The Jays may be the hottest team in the league right now, but they aren’t the only team trending upward… they’re just the most entertaining for me.  The other teams that have caught my attention are the Cubs and the Mets.

The Cubbies were my pre-season pick to finish just behind the Pirates in the National League Central.  They are in fact right being the Pirates, but that has them in 3rd place not 2nd.

The good news for Wrigleyville?  They’re in the second NL Wild Card spot.

Yes, if the season ended today, my claim that 3 teams out of the NL Central would make the playoffs would be my one and only accurate pre-season prediction.  Seriously, the only one.

The Cardinals are still way out front, holding a 5-game lead over the Pirates and 8.5-game over the Cubs, but the gap has been closing little by little.  Before the season I picked the Pirates to win the Central, then the Cubs and Cards to lock up the Wild Card spots.  I don’t think that’s happening now.

I’ll take the Cards to continue to hold the division, and the Cubs will have to go into Pittsburgh and knock off the Pirates to get a true shot at the playoffs.  This division will be a lot of fun.

The Mets are a special case for me. Obviously I have a family tie with Matt Harvey, but taking Matt out of it… I still think I’m a believer.

That being said, I think the Mets have the toughest task ahead of them of all of the playoff spot holding teams in the league… holding off the Washington Nationals.

The Nats have been up and down a lot this year, but when they’re up, in this baseball enthusiast’s humble opinion… they’re the best team in baseball.  That being said, I think the NL East is the most unpredictable divisional race in the league.  The AL West may rival it, but I can’t say that I expect the Mets or the Nats to finish on top.  All I can say is that we’ll all enjoy every second of it.

Get ready people… the 2015 pennant race is going to be EPIC!

-Ditti

Any and all feedback welcomed!  Get me on Twitter (@Ditti33) or via e-mail at ditti@740thegame.com

Leave a Reply

