Nah, I’m good.

The day is here.

Tim Tebow officially graces Fluor Field in downtown Greenville to take on our Greenville Drive for the first time tonight…and I’m not going to cover it.  I won’t be there tonight, I won’t be there tomorrow and I won’t be there Thursday…even if it is “Thirsty Thursday.”

Why?

Well, that’s simple.

Tebow is batting .221 with just 3 home runs in Low-A ball.  He is living his dream and I completely appreciate how amazing getting paid to play baseball must be…but that doesn’t mean I have to join the circus when he rolls into town.

Undoubtedly, there will be more media at Fluor Field over the next three days than there has been since the Drive opened up the park back in 2006.  This isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but it’s kind of unfortunate.

Of course the Tebow media circus is not his fault, but it doesn’t change the fact that it is overshadowing the other players involved.

The swarming media tonight are not going to be there to check out legitimate Mets prospect Dash Winningham or legitimate Red Sox prospect Roldani Baldwin.  They will be there for Tebow and Tebow only.

Their job is to write the same puff piece you’ve already seen in every single town that the Columbia Fireflies have traveled to this season.

I’m just not going to do it.

Of course the spectacle of Tim Tebow being involved in this week’s series will do great things for our little city, but covering the economic impact of Tebow Mania is not what I do.  I cover sports.

I’ve said it a million times and I will reiterate it now.

I do not hate Tim Tebow.  I think he is one of the greatest human beings there is, that he uses his platform for great things and that more Americans should be as positive, helpful and kind-hearted as he is.

The thing is, this is about baseball not Tebow.

Since the beginning of the Tebow baseball experiment I’ve remained consistent.  I wish him well, I support him chasing his dream, but as a baseball analyst I see him as a Double-A talent at best and to be perfectly honest that’s okay.

But I won’t be a part of the circus.

Instead, I will be at Fluor Field next Thursday, June 22nd to cover the Drive as they take on the Charleston Riverdogs.  I will write a piece about the game, the performance of the biggest named prospects involved and I’m sure I’ll gush over the amazingness of attending a Greenville Drive game.

I will continue to respect Tim Tebow the man, celebrate the greatness he gave us on the college gridiron and support his mission to spread kindness to the world.

But when it comes to covering Tebow the baseball player…

Nah, I’m good.

-Ditti

Find me on Twitter (@Ditti33), Facebook (/InsideTheMindOfDitti) and Instagram (dittius33).

 

Leave a Reply

