Catching Up

It’s been a few weeks since we’ve caught up here on InsideTheMindOfDitti.com, so I figured it was long overdue….but it comes with a warning…

WARNING: THE FOLLOWING IS ABOUT ME, MY TEAMS AND MY OWN PERSONAL OPINIONS! (If you don’t know where my allegiances lie by now…you will soon.  Oh, and if you don’t like my takes…write your own blog!)

SECOND WARNING: THE FOLLOWING IS A TON OF RAMBLING AT THE KEYBOARD….READ AT YOUR OWN RISK!

The last month or so has been a whirlwind of working and enjoying my time since I left Open Mike on 740 The Game.  I am however still employed by 740 The Game and iHeartMedia and have been getting air time here and there, mainly on Wednesday evenings with the 3n2 Baseball Show and here and there on the Kevin Sutton Show as I produce 740’s brokered programming.

Beyond that I have been fully enjoying my new 2nd job at CaddyShanks in Baldwin Park.  Honestly, I didn’t think I missed the chaos and interaction of the service industry this much…but I did and I am so glad to be back in it!  Come out and see me some time for a beer.

Beyond that, I’ve been paying attention to the sports world…close close attention.

Obviously this had been my job for the past 3 or so years and I never stop working, even without an on air show.  Some of you may know, I have started up a podcast (Your Girlfriend’s Favorite Sports Show) with my buddy Jordan Eichenblatt and will be adding more and more to my podcasting as I grow more and more accustomed to my new hectic day-to-day schedule.

But again…I’ve been paying attention.

I noticed the idiocy of the 12-hour long “head set gate” and the quick return to the 8-year-old spygate when the truthers were spurned by the logical outcome of the day.  So on that topic, I have nothing to say except that I feel bad that the proud, excuse free history of the Pittsburgh Steelers is being diminished by the whiny Mike Tomlin.

Chuck Noll wouldn’t have made excuses.

Believe whatever you want about the Patriots, about Bill Belichick, but know this…. If you leave Rob Gronkowski uncovered multiple times you deserve to lose the game.  This is the Pittsburgh Steelers for blank sake!  They have more rings than every single team in the NFL.  There’s no excuse for being a sore loser in Pittsburgh, and Steeler fans who don’t have an insufferable blind hatred for New England should see this.

That being said.  The Patriots aren’t going to be great in 2015…and neither are the Steelers.

Yes it’s one week in, but I see both Buffalo and Miami having a shot at unseeding the Pats in the AFC East   The Steelers on the other hand have an easier road to the playoffs in the AFC North now that Terrell Suggs is out for Baltimore and Johnny “Great in College” Football is at the helm in Cleveland.  The Bengals are the only threat in the division in my mind, and their not much of a threat.

My outlandishly early, stupid prediction is that the Patriots miss the playoffs and the Steelers get bumped early making this week one whinefest all for nothing.

Moving on.

Both the UCF Knights and my South Carolina Gamecocks have come out a bit limp in 2015.  UCF has begun their season 0-2 with a home loss to lowly FIU and a road stomping at the hands of Stanford.  They have what should be a cake walk on Saturday with Furman in town, but then again who knows.

The Gamecocks struggled to survive the battle of Carolina against UNC in week one then proceeded to lose for the second straight season to the Kentucky Wildcats.  The second half of the game was a positive sign for my Gamecocks, but I don’t know how positive it can be as Carolina travels to Athens, Georgia to battle the Bulldogs between the hedges.

Now typically this game is a great one.  Hard nosed, old school football.  Every once in a while one team is heads-and-shoulders above the other and it ends up being a very one sided occasion.  I fear that will be the case this season.  Look for the Bulldogs to roll Spurrier’s (and my) Gamecocks, taking full advantage of the inexperience of Perry Orth at QB.

In other college football outlandish predictions, I did make my Final Four prediction for the College Football Playoff on my new podcast…here are my 4 playoff teams:

  1. Ohio State
  2. Alabama
  3. Baylor
  4. CLEMSON

Yes, Clemson.

I know, I’m a Gamecock and I’m a regular user of the “reverse jinx,” but I promise this has nothing to do with that.  Outside of Georgia Tech, nobody in the ACC is better than Clemson, and the toughest out of conference road game on the Tigers’ schedule is that game at the end of the season in Columbia…and I’ve already told you how bad the Gamecocks are.

The tough test for Clemson comes over the next several weeks as they play in Louisville this Thursday and then games at home against Notre Dame and Georgia Tech to follow.  Games at Miami and in Death Valley (JR) against FSU also stand out as tests…but I’m still standing strong on my pick.  I think Clemson is a force, I think Deshaun Watson is a legitimate Heisman Trophy candidate.

So I’m sorry to my fellow Gamecocks fans…cause we’re in for a ton of gloating if I’m right.

Moving on…again.

The Major League Baseball playoffs are almost here and we have…a couple good races.

The AL East is still up for grabs, as well as the AL West and Wild Card, but that’s about it.  The Mets, Cardinals and Dodgers all might as well have already clinched, the Pirates and Cubs are playing for home field advantage in the one game Wild Card play-in game and the AL Central is a one horse race.

So right now, you have the Twins challenging the AL West runner up and the Yankees for the Wild Card, while the Yankees try to catch the Blue Jays and the Astros and Rangers battle it out for the West.

My prediction?  The Yankees battle the Astros in the Bronx in the AL Wild Card Game while the Cubs travel to Pittsburgh in the NL.  The Yankees and Cubs win, but both lose in the first round of the real playoffs. Write it down…it’ll probably be wrong.

Best news of the day?  20 days to the return of NHL hockey!

That’s all for now.  Catch me on the Football Round-Up show Sundays on 740 the Game from 10-11 am and be on the lookout for more Your Girlfriends Favorite Sports Show and other podcasts coming soon!

Thank you all once again for your continued support!

-Ditti

Any and all feedback welcomed!  Get me on Twitter (@Ditti33) or via e-mail at ditti@740thegame.com!

Leave a Reply

